Skip to content

God is Bigger Than My Strategies

October 31, 2007

In our training today, one of our staff members asked whether we thought that the outpouring of the Holy Spirit found in Acts 2 is still possible today. Everyone of us said yes. The next question hit me square in the eyes, “Are you expecting God to pour out the Holy Spirit in your church plant?

I had to confess that in the midst of all our training, assessment, study, strategy and taking into account the spiritual receptivity in our mission focus area, I was preparing myself and planning for a long term, slow growth plodding away in reaching our area. Now it may potentially work out that way, but it is far better if we pray fervently and pray expecting that God will pour out his Spirit and bring hundreds, if not thousands to faith. I thought this way in the past, but I lost sight of it for a bit.

I need to pray for an Acts 2 outpouring of the Holy Spirit, not that I would have a great plan. I need to be diligent, and honor the gifts and abilities God has given me but I need to expect that God will move powerfully!!

So, I need two primary strategies for Sept 2008:

  1. Pray for an Acts 2 pouring out of the Holy Spirit.
  2. Develop a rapidly scalable assimilation and discipleship strategy that teaches people what a disciple is, how to feed themselves and equips them for their ministry.

From today forward I will be praying for a demonstration of the Spirit and His power as we go forward.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. J-Rod permalink
    October 31, 2007 10:53 pm

    Now we are getting somewhere…
    It’s on now my brother!

  2. November 2, 2007 3:41 pm

    amen! interesting given that the structures and philosphy coming from NCI seem Spirit-quenching at times (ouch)!

  3. November 2, 2007 4:23 pm

    Glenn (NCI) started the whole enchilada with prayer. He made sure to drive it home. The fault lies fully with me. I am already prone to gravitate toward working in my own strength, intellect and abilities. I lost sight of it because I have been filling in my knowledge/abilities gap because of fear more than anything else. Glenn is as solid as they come and loves the Spirit. We had some really sweet prayer time together as well.

  4. November 3, 2007 10:36 am

    Thanks for that corrective. This was not meant to be pejorative, but what “seems” to be the case from my limited interaction with some of their stuff. Of course, your extended first hand experience is much more reliable than mine.

    How encouraging it is to hear the heart of reliance upon the Spirit in an overly-industry driven phenomenon like church planting! Thanks for sharing these things.

  5. November 4, 2007 10:32 pm

    I felt the conviction too! The conversation really made me ask the question, “Do I believe God could do that now?” I found myself praying, “Father help my unbelief.” If our prayers are not intertwined with our belief in God’s power, then we are praying in vain.

Leave a Reply

