Skip to content

Run to Grace (First Sermon)

November 11, 2007
tags:

So today I preached my first Sunday sermon at a church. I have taught bible study classes and preached/taught at the college mid-week study as the College & Singles Pastor of The Village Church, but I had never preached a Sunday morning message until this morning. And it was awesome. Seriously.

It could have been better. I ran long and I almost certainly jumped around a bit, but we closed strong and…

five people acknowledged receiving Christ this morning!!

I was surprised (although I shouldn’t have been) and I was humbled. Hill Country Bible Church Hutto was where I preached and they were phenomenal hosts!! They were such an encouragement to me and to my family, and we got to meet some men and women of great prayer and faith. Thank you Hill Country Hutto.

I preached through Luke 7:36-50 which is the story of the Simon the Pharisee and the sinful woman who weeps over Jesus’ feet, wipes his feet with her hair and pours perfume on his feet. Forgiveness was give to her that day and she left in peace. We discussed how the churches message of grace has been hijacked and in its place is a unintentional message of law and rules that keep people outside the community until they obey. We really tried to set the scene for people so they could understand what was taking place in the room where the story takes place.

The takeaway idea was: That when we understand our sinfulness and experience God’s grace, we are more compassionate toward others, we are more worshipful of Jesus and we are empowered to walk in obedience.

I also shared my testimony of God’s grace in His revealing Himself toward me through my criminal activity, my confession of Christ, my confession of my crime and the subsequent conviction and imprisonment. God has been truly wonderful to me and I am forever grateful. If you want to hear the story, let me know. Because I love to tell it. I will post a link to the sermon after they upload it on their website.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. cindy morphew permalink
    November 15, 2007 10:00 am

    HCBC Hutto was blessed to have you. My week has not been the same as I reflect on the overwhelming amount of grace it took for Christ to cover my sin. My desire to honor Him has increased, and I am encouraged that a message of hope to a lost world is louder with you all in it.
    Blessings,
    Cindy
    Phil. 1:3

  2. November 15, 2007 2:58 pm

    Thank you sweet sister! I continue to be encouraged by your graceful words. My family and I are really looking forward to joining you for dinner Monday evening.

Leave a Reply

