Skip to content

Capital 10K Training

January 11, 2008

Cap 10K

So I came across the Statesman Capital 10,000 (AKA: Cap-10K) in my Statesman RSS feed the other day. And after going to the website, I am super pumped to run in this race!! Not just because I get to run in the race, but also because they have a 12 week training program where I get to meet folks and run with them for 12 weeks.

Now that is a great way to get to know our community! I mean, think about it. The Statesman is promoting a 10K and they are gathering people together for me to meet. Not just once in the race, but for 12 weeks! And they are doing it in multiple locations throughout the city. I don’t have to spend money, throw an event and invite people. They are already coming. I am confident that I could run the 6.2 miles without training if I wanted to, but running the race isn’t the point, meeting my neighbors is.

Tonight we ran 1.5 miles. Yeah, I know it isn’t much, but to this crew of trainees, it was a good first run. And I got to talk with a few people which is a necessary component of a future friendship. We will be setting up some Saturday runs with some other friends, and I will be inviting my training friends to it as well.

There is still time to join the training program if you want to. Here is a PDF where you can find more information on the dates and times.

Bonus: The Austin skyline and the lake are awesome from the water level!! I will try to take some photos and post them for you.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2008 11:28 am

    ya that is awesome. did you find a house yet?

  2. Adam Wilder permalink
    January 11, 2008 11:48 am

    I can’t believe you are actually going to workout! Praise the Lord!

  3. January 11, 2008 7:52 pm

    Chris, we moved in about 2 weeks ago. We are across the street from the Broken Spoke Saloon near S. Lamar and Westrock. And we love it!!

  4. January 12, 2008 7:29 am

    when are you having us over for dinner? 🙂

  5. Rebekah Finfrock permalink
    January 12, 2008 4:37 pm

    YES!! So excited to be running too. I think Mack and Anne are coming with me.

Leave a Reply

