Skip to content

A Bright Side to Higher Gas Prices?

June 10, 2008

So I started trying this hypermiling thing. There are multiple components to hypermiling, but for me it is taking it easy on the gas pedal, like not accelerating so hard or slowing down sooner when coming to red lights (not braking, just coasting). And while driving around Austin today, it got me to thinking that among all the obvious negatives of higher gas prices, there might be a few positives. Here is what I came up with:

  1. It encourages me to save money, which means saving gas, which means less natural resources being used and a smaller carbon footprint. It also makes people re-consider their vehicle purchases.
  2. It moves me to consider biking/walking to closer locations for what I need. This helps me get more fit and helps me build relationships with those near me.
  3. It makes me slow down, which keeps me within the speed limit (mostly). How sad and convicting that I need to be hit in the pocket book to obey the reasonable laws of the land and honor God in it. Tommy Nelson use to say that the last thing saved on a Christian was his right foot.

My car and cheap gas makes it is easy for me abuse the environment, get fatter, avoid my local community and violate traffic laws. I still want good gas prices, but I hope to be further sanctified by this perspective.

And please don’t list the multiple legitimate reasons why higher priced gas has negative effects. If you do, you will show that you missed the primary point of the post, which is that we are selfish people who are driven more by our pocketbooks then our principles. And yes, me too.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2008 9:40 am

    So are you going to get a cool basket for the front of your bike for groceries? You could do the commuter rack on the back.. but where’s the style in that?

  2. June 11, 2008 11:41 am

    Truthfully, riding the bike in the summer will kill me!! I am in the market for a used roadbike though.

Leave a Reply

