Skip to content

Introducing: The Centurion

September 18, 2008

Riding this (slighty too small) 1984 Centurion Comp TA to a meeting at Torchy’s Tacos today. Why you ask?

While I love mountain biking in the Greenbelt, riding a bike on South Lamar, South 1st and South Congress is a little scary. Around downtown and around campus they drive at reasonable speeds and expect cyclists.

South of the river they treat the roads like thoroughfares.

So why again am I riding?
1. Starting tomorrow we are down to one car for awhile.
2. I could use some more daily exercise
3. I actually like the idea of riding my bike around town.
4. Maybe I’ll meet some other South Austin cyclists and start a benevolent bicycle gang.

So I ride.

(And mad props to Daniel Spenrath for his generosity in giving me the bike for gratis. Cleaned up nice didn’t it.)

*update: There are more hills in South Austin if you are riding a bike, than if you are driving your car.  I know it sounds crazy, but its true.  Well, its ‘truthiness’ anyway

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 23, 2008 7:02 am

    Congrats on the bike!! Wish I had one with one of those carts on the back to pull my kids around. Although there aren’t as many bikers here in Round Rock as there are down south!! Be safe!

Leave a Reply

