Skip to content

Q 2009 Austin – Day One Reflections

April 27, 2009

Day one at Q wrapped up today.  I missed the evening session with Shane Hipps so that I could keep my Monday night meeting with the Soma Austin men.  They make sacrifices to come together and I have a great time with them so it was an easy decision to spend time with our men.

I will confess that I am pretty much conferenced-out at this point.  After so many you hear the same thing repeatedly by guys who have said it a dozen ways already.  And so many conferences are for the already convinced or stay at such a introductory level that I just can’t do it anymore.  But Q seems to promise something more.  Something smaller, a more interactive format and fresh voices that I may not be exposed to normally.  And it is in Austin this year so I get to kiss my wife and kids each morning and evening.

Overall it was pretty much what I expected.  Some familiar friends saying familiar things with a few new voices saying new things, but not groundbreaking.  Well, except for the youth pastor working on nuclear disarmament, that was new to me, and I was glad to see it.  My best take-aways from today:

  • Allan Hirsch describing attractional as ‘extractional’, that in attracting people to our churches, we are often extracting them from their places of influence and people they know.  This is against our incarnational calling.
  • Joel Kotkin had some interesting perspectives on the suburbs and proposed future suburbs of villages with cultural centers in them.  This is actually similar to something in mind that Cid Galindo who ran for city council was promoting.  (This is not necessarily an endorsement of Cid, just an observation.  For the record, I liked his ideas on this.)
  • I didn’t know a ton about Gabe Lyons going in to today, but I left feeling a deep respect and appreciation for his growth over the past few years.  He is a thinker with deep convictions and he acts on them.  I think I always lumped him with Catalyst, and I keep wanting Catalyst to grow up in some areas.  It is clear that by God’s grace Gabe has been grown by God over the past few years.

Overall Q wasn’t groundbreaking today, but that is probably because I have been diligently trying to break ground through my own studies.  But it is being used to confirm some things, and I am hopeful for tomorrow.  Oh, and Shane Hipps might have been awesome, but I missed it.  But the men of Soma Austin are awesome also.

Some things to check out:

http://www.qideas.com

http://www.twofuturesproject.org

5 Comments leave one →
  1. michael rudzena permalink
    April 28, 2009 6:49 am

    Thanks Jacob. I feel the same way. Hirsch and Crouch were good but nothing mind blowing. However, Hipps was phenomenal. He was the best presentation last year and it may be the same this year. Again, his content has not blown me away. I had a few college profs who thought along this vein, encouraging us to think critically about the way media and technology shape our rhythms and inner life, but he is a great communicator who continues to bring fresh insight into the discussion. His stuff on how our use of the smart phone with its multi-tasking capacity shrinks the soul over time. Let’s catch up today!

  2. April 28, 2009 9:25 am

    good stuff, bud. i’m pumped you are enjoying the conference…sounds like you missed a great session last night, but i know those men are better for you sacrificing you time to be with them! 🙂 you rule!

  3. May 4, 2009 1:45 pm

    Hey boooiiiiii!

  4. May 4, 2009 1:45 pm

    (positively my most intelligent comment ever)

  5. May 4, 2009 1:54 pm

    Given our deep, rich history, your ‘hey boooiiiii!’ speaks very deeply to my soul.

Leave a Reply

